Local Area Information

Goring has its own Railway Station approximately 1.45 miles distant, with car parking from £2.80 per day and quick easy access to London and Oxford (40 minutes by direct fast train from Reading, and 1 1/4 Hours from Streatley to London).  The village shops, approximately 20 minutes walk away, include food store/newsagent, chemist, gift shops, cafes and a bank. The wider surrounding Chilterns is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with many picturesque villages. The Old Stables is within walking distance of restaurants including English, Chinese and Indian and many public houses. 

Noteworthy is The Bull Public House in Streatley where a local nun had a clandestine meeting with a novice monk. The errant pair were caught and slain for their crime. Two yew trees were planted over their graves in the grounds of the Bull which remain to this day with a plaque to mark the spot. Legend dictates that on the anniversary of their execution, two figures rise from the graves.

The Old Stables is well placed for sightseeing being located midway between the Cotswolds, Oxford, Windsor, Henley on Thames and London. Reading and The Oracle shopping centre is 9 miles distant, Oxford 20 miles, Windsor 34 miles, London 54 miles.

There are several National Trust and Country Houses within easy driving distance, with Basildon House right on our door step and within walking distance (Basildon House was used as the film set for Grantham House in the Downton Abbey Christmas special).

*www.nationaltrust.org.uk/basildon-park

*www.mapledurham.co.uk

*www.nationaltrust.org.uk/cliveden

*www.nationaltrust.org.uk/greys-court

*www.nationaltrust.org.uk/nuffield-place

A Selection of Activities and Places to Visit in the Vicinity Includes:

(* Suitable for a rainy day)

Goring Gap Wildlife Experiences (Guided Wildlife Walks)                    https://ggwildlifeexperiences.co.uk/guests-of-the-old-stables-at-linden-cott

Open air splash pool and heated open air swimming pool on the banks of The Thames (Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford)

*The Living Rainforest - www.livingrainforest.org - Home to 700 species of plants and animals. Watch birds, butterflies and lizards roam free in tropical glasshouses.

Beale Park Wildlife Park - www.bealepark.co.uk - animals, gardens, play and activities including a seasonal paddling pool

Caversham Lakes - www.cavershamlakes.co.uk - paddle boarding, canoeing, kayaking, open water swimming, family beach, cafe/bar, aqua park.

*Pendon Museum - www.pendonmuseum.com - 1930's rural model village

Donkey Sanctuary - www.donkeyrescue.co.uk

Withymead Nature Reserve - www.withymead.co.uk

Paintballing - www.paintball.co.uk/ Reading

Wellington Country Park - www.wellington-country-park.co.uk - activities include nature trails, animal/petting farm, sand pits, water play, miniature railway, mini golf

*Museums - Oxford

(including highly recommended, refurbished Natural History Museum) - www.oum.ox.ac.uk

              - Reading

              - Newbury

Reading Abbey Ruins - www.readingabbeyquarter.org.uk

*Oxford Castle Unlocked - www.oxfordcastleunlocked.co.uk - Costumed character tours of the castle, debtors tower, and prison.

Oxford Guided Ghost Walks - www.oxfordghosttours.com

*Oxford Ice Rink - www.fusion-lifestyle.com/centres/Oxford_Ice_Rink

* Stonor Park - http://www.stonor.com

Lagoona Aquapark https://lagoonapark.com/ Inflatable aquapark, jetski hire, paddle boarding

* Dorchester Abbey - http://www.dorchester-abbey.org.uk

*Cinemas (Reading, Wallingford, Oxford, Henley on Thames)

Thames River Cruises - www.thamesrivercruise.co.uk

Boat and Paddle Board Hire, Benson Waterfrontwww.avboats.co.uk

Bucklebury Farm Park - www.buckleburyfarmpark.co.uk

Newbury Racecourse - www.newbury-racecourse.co.uk

Harcourt Arboretum - www.harcourt-arboretum.ox.ac.uk

Didcot Steam Railway - www.didcotrailwaycentre.org.uk

Experience handling/hunting days and evenings - www.hawkwalk.org 

Streatley and Goring Golf Club - www.goringgolf.co.uk

The Springs Golf Clubwww.thespringsgc.co.uk

*Lookout Discovery Centre - www.bracknell-forest.gov.uk/thelookoutdiscoverycentre (Hands on Science and Nature Activities)

Agatha Christie Trail - https://www.wallingford.co.uk/files/agatha_walks.pdf

Coach and Personal Tours including The Cotswolds, The Midsomer Murders Trail and Downton - www.visitmidsomer.com/explore-midsomer

Local Events

Swan Upping - July 2021 (Goring Loch dates & times to be announced) 

Goring Gap Festival (Arts) - postponed until 2022 run biennially alternating with the Goring Gap Festival (Food) -CANCELLED due to Corona Virus

Goring & Streatley Regatta - biennial event - 2021 date CANCELLED - www.goringgapbc.org.uk

Goring 10k - Postponed until 2022 - www.goring10k.co.uk

Henley Regatta - 29th June - 4th July 2021

Slightly Further Afield but within Driving Distance (Up to 1 hour approx):

Legoland Windsor - www.legoland.co.uk

*Coral Reef Swimming Pool - www.everyoneactive.com/centre/coral-reef-waterworld

*Bicester Designer Outlet - www.bicestervillage.com/en/home

*Swindon Designer Outlet - www.mcarthurglen.com/en/outlets/uk/designer-outlet-swindon

4 Kingdoms Animal & Adventure Park www.4-kingdoms.co.uk

Lapland UK - www.laplanduk.co.uk

*Warner Bros. Studio Tour - The Making of Harry Potter - www.wbstudiotour.co.uk/home

*Windsor Castle - www.windsor.gov.uk/things-to-do/windsor-castle-p43983

Cotswold Wildlife Park - www.cotswoldwildlifepark.co.uk

Mini Tank Experience - www.minitankelite.co.uk (minimum age 8 years)

Stonehenge - www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/stonehenge

Bekonscot Model Village - www.bekonscot.co.uk

*Highclere Castle (Home to Downton Abbey) - www.highclerecastle.co.uk

*Blenheim Palace - www.blenheimpalace.com

Waterperry Gardens - www.waterperrygardens.co.uk

Uffington White Horse - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/white-horse-hill

Avebury - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/avebury/

Farnham Bird World - www.birdworld.co.uk

Slightly Further Afield but within Driving Distance (Up to 1 ½ hours approx):

Thorpe Park - www.thorpepark.com (1 hour 5 mins)

Chessington World of Adventures - www.chessington.com (1 hour 15 mins)

Marwell Zoo - www.marwell.org.uk (1 hour 10 mins)

Bath

Stratford Upon Avon

The New Forest

Cotswold Farm Park (Rare Breeds and Home to Adam Henson from Countryfile) - www.cotswoldfarmpark.co.uk

Bournemouth (2 hours)

Whats On in Goring & Streatley